How-To Categories
Recent How-To's
News Feed E-mail
Login
| Comment Spam |
|
|
|
| Written by Cory | |
| Thursday, 04 October 2007 | |
|
Warning: This article is a rant about a specific comment spammer who has spammed this website on multiple occasions. Today was the last straw. About a month ago, I got a comment here from someone named "Shannon" supposedly asking about a new website offering Joomla! services. It seemed to me like a blatant attempt to promote that website by masquerading as a user wondering if anyone had ever used that website. I left the comment there, but removed all links to the website. Then, I offered my opinion about the templates offered at that website, and gave "Shannon" several suggestions of template companies that offer much higher quality templates. Today, I got three more spam comments trying to promote the same company. Here is the comment without the links to the website:
You may be wondering, why bother posting about these spam comments? Here is why. Normally, the spam comments I get are promoting porn sites or things like that. When I see a company providing Joomla! services spamming people's comment systems, it makes me angry. This kind of person makes the Joomla! community seem like lowlife profiteers, no better than porn or viagara spammers. I want to let everyone know what this company is doing and that I do not support that sort of behavior in the Joomla! community. Also, I want to let everyone know about this company, so that if you read this post, you will think twice before buying anything from them. Here are just a few suggestions of template companies that do not post spam comments. I highly recommend any one of these companies: In case you missed it in the spam comment quote, the name of the company is JoomlaCMSSolutions. It is my opinion that we as a community should not support companies that resort to tactics like those attempted by JoomlaCMSSolutions. I want to encourage you to join me in never purchasing anything from this company.
Set as favorite
Bookmark
Email This
Hits: 2500 Trackback(0)
Comments (9)
![]()
JSG: ... http://www.deafjoomla.com
Was the comment posting by the webmaster or by an affiliate? If it was by an affiliate, then it's too easy for every Joomla affiliate program to be besmirched by the competitors.
JSG 1 report abuse
vote down
vote up
October 04, 2007
Votes: +0
Steve: ... http://alledia.com
Hi Cory
I can back up your claim - we're visited by exactly the same spammer on a regular basis. It seems that manual spam is becoming as much of a problem as automatic spam. 3 report abuse
vote down
vote up
October 05, 2007
Votes: +0
Rita Lewis: ... http://wordstoweb.net
What a silly way to market a site. As you said, there are way better ways to get your name out there, such as offering affiliations, various advertising avenues such as Yahoo or Google, creating a blog, and on and on. Spamming other sites just annoys folks and definitely I would not use a template source that does this and I purchase a lot of templates for my clients.
Thanks for pointing this problem out. 4 report abuse
vote down
vote up
October 05, 2007
Votes: +0
stephan: ... http://www.panlogicsoftware.com/wordpress
You could also add "is a spammer" directly after any mention of the name, just in case someone googles the name. Google shows terms in context, so this would be better than, say, breaking the name apart (and getting no index), since it would always show up along with a negative "review".
5 report abuse
vote down
vote up
October 05, 2007
Votes: +0
Hummerbie: ... http://www.hummerbie.com
@Cory
I contacted the site owners and found out, they had been using a "promoter" via rentacoder.com. As I mentioned what harm it did to their site, they wrote " I apologize for the harm they did and we wont use their services again" After that date, ther where no spam posts anymore. So I guess the lesson learned here is that you most closely watch how other people are promoting your website... 6 report abuse
vote down
vote up
October 16, 2007
Votes: +0
darren richard: ... http://www.joomla-tutorial.org
I used rentacoder.com a while back and jesus I got lots of angry webmasters contacting me saying that I had spammed them.
Serves me right really for using an Indian firm, it looks like all they did was load my link onto some software and then spammed away! VERY annoying, didn't pay them in the end! 8 report abuse
vote down
vote up
April 17, 2008
Votes: +0
Jeff: ...
I think if a person wants to comment they should at least read the entire post...I make sure to read every post if I leave my signature link; hope you cleared all this up.
---------------------------------- ventrilo servers 9 report abuse
vote down
vote up
April 22, 2008
Votes: +0 Write comment
|
| < Prev | Next > |
|---|








